My organist is quitting after Christmas…help.
  • For whatever reason my organist thought that immediately following Christmas would be a good time to quit. I just found out today.

I’m a musician with two performance degrees in music, so I have a handle on practice methods but organ is not my instrument. I did take a few lessons here in there and learned a few pieces, but I’m thinking this might be a sign from above and the push I needed to get back into learning after a few years hiatus.

Where can I start teaching myself? Scales/arpeggios? Hymns to start out with? I have the Flor Peeters Little Organ Book and Noel Jones wonderful Catholic Organist’s book of Hymns. I have no piano background except for college methods classes and really need a handle on good organ fingering, as well as good Baroque (preferably Catholic composers) pieces to play for prelude and during Mass (think Frescobaldi).

Thank you for your help!!!
    Thanked by 1noel jones, aago
  • CharlesW
    If you have keyboard proficiency, and I am assuming you do as a degreed musician, look for manuals only music until you gain experience with pedals. There are other posts here that cover the topic. I have a couple of books called " 50 Baroque Fillers for Organ" put out by Kevin Mayhew I believe, and they are for manuals only. You can add pedal if you like. The Stanley works were written for organs without pedals and there are several of them in the books. They are probably available at the publishers like Sheet Music Plus and others, There are two volumes available and contain enough prelude, postlude, and incidental music to get you through masses for some time. Its a start.
    Thanked by 1regissør
  • SalieriSalieri