Beginning Organist Repertoire
  • Sam99
    Hi all,

I am preparing to begin my first organist position at a small Anglican church and am in need of some suggestions for easy to learn, nearly sightreadable repertoire as I am expected to have 4 organ pieces prepared each week in addition to hymns and service music. Time for me is a bit in short supply haha. I've also only recently begun playing organ (about 7 months ago, but have played piano for a long time).

There are a few collections I've been considering. Concordia's The Parish Organist was brought to my attention and I wondered if anyone has experience with these. I've also heard of Dom Paul Benoit's Elevations, but I'm unsure if these will be too advanced for someone with limited practice time (I'm a college student) and organ experience. A few other collections I've glanced at are Herbert Howells' Miniatures for Organ, Healey Willan's Hymn Tune Preludes (which book of these would be best), and a collection by George Thalben Ball called 113 Variations on Hymn Tunes. Does anyone have experience with these or similar collections, and would they be something which would be helpful to build my repertoire?

Any help is much appreciated! Thanks!!
  • irishtenoririshtenor
    In no particular order:

36 Miniatures for Organ (Noel Rawsthorne)--Kevin Mayhew
    148 Interludes for Organ--Kevin Mayhew
    50 Baroque Fillers for Organ--Kevin Mayhew
    50 More Baroque Fillers for Organ--Kevin Mayhew
    The Liturgical Organist (vols. 1-7)--Fr. Carlo Rossini
    The Ecclesiastical Organist (vols. 1-2)--Fr. Carlo Rossini
    The Gregorian Organist--Fr. Carlo Rossini
    Works of John Stanley
    Works of Wm. Boyce
    Works of John Alcock
    Works of Domenico Zipoli
    Magnificat Fugues (Johann Pachelbel)
    Baroque Music for Manuals (numerous volumes)--Concordia Publishing House
    Thanked by 1Sam99
  • Sam99
    Thanks so much!
  • Richard MixRichard Mix