Job Description Specifying That the Successful Candidate Be a Practicing Catholic
  • EvaS
    Hello everyone,

Is it possible for a church job description to specify that the successful candidate be a practicing Roman Catholic? A pastor that I know is looking for a part-time organist. He has mentioned to me that he wanted a practicing Roman Catholic. At this time he does not want to advertise the position publicly, but may consider doing so if he still cannot find anyone in a month or so.
  • chonakchonak
    I'm not a lawyer, but my understanding is that this can be a publicly stated requirement. While a religion requirement would be unlawful for most jobs, Federal courts have upheld a "ministerial exception" based on the First Amendment, which guarantees that churches are free to apply religious criteria in hiring and firing ministers. In churches that consider church musicians to be liturgical ministers (and can demonstrate that they do), that applies to musicians.

Incidentally, job announcements in the field of Catholic church music are welcome here on the Forum at no charge.
    Thanked by 1madorganist
  • ryandryand
    “Active Catholic in good standing” is part of so many job ads (for any position) on diocesan websites that either chonak is correct or someone had better call the USCCB ASAP.
    Thanked by 1SarahJ
  • dad29
    It's legal. Of course, that narrows the field, and you MAY have to settle for "less organist" than you like.
  • My question is how specific you can get and still remain within the boundaries and intent of the law.