The Minute They Get It
  • TCJ
    So I have been working with a particular choir for a couple years. Members have been in and out (mostly out) but I finally got a small group that reliably shows up. All of them were grandfathered in from the time before I managed the choir. I would say that were I doing a tryout most likely would not have chosen some of them to be in the choir. Anyway, for a couple years I have been working with them trying to get a better sound out of them including, staying on pitch and knowing a low pitch from a high one. Yes, it could be trying at times.

I could describe the voices as: on pitch but way too soft, braying donkey - off pitch, consistently two notes below pitch, and good voice but afraid to use it. For about the past six months we've been having practices in which they sing much better and then forget everything on Sunday. Last week, however, I wonder if I didn't have doppelgangers or something in the choir.

The donkey was gone. The tentative voice was gone . And the one who sang off pitch consistently was on pitch. Not only that, but all three of the women suddenly started singing in their head voices very clearly, strongly, and accurately. It wasn't a professional moment, but I felt like I had a choir and everything was clicking at once. What's more, they didn't forget it on Sunday.

Is this what is called a Eureka moment? A mirage that will disappear? Or does it just take two years for some people to find their voices?

(As an aside, I had some other members with really good voices who carried it, but they did not stay with the choir.)
  • Carol
    Were they all standing in their usual places or could you attribute the improvement to someone standing in a different spot? Whatever happened I hope and pray it continues! Maybe they got better because they were listening better to one another.
  • eft94530eft94530
    Love your descriptors;
    are they represented on (pokemon?) cards or something?