Punctuation and Rests
  • Hello fellow musicians!

I have been a Catholic church musician and teacher for many years. Recently I moved to a semi-rural part of Missouri to care for my parents. Finding employment has been difficult, but I am music director at a small Methodist church.

My question, dear colleagues, is regarding the use of projected lyrics. Do any of you utilize this and if so how exactly do you organize the lyrics? I've never had this in any church previously. This congregation will not pick up a hymnal unless there is a power outage, so the lyrics are on televisions around the church. When I arrived, NO punctuation was used in the lyrics and there was no organization of the lines that corresponded with rests or pauses in the music. Therefore, the people just kept singing. I was able to implement punctuation, but to the irritation of the pastor. Does anyone else have this issue or am I just being too picky?

Recently, I was also asked me to disregard the: rests in the music, pauses indicated by fermatas, rhythms (unless they were perfunctory,) etc. As a musician, I have issues with this practice. Anyone else facing this problem? How are you handling it?

I'm open to advice and suggestions of any sort. Thank you.
  • Kathy
    It seems to me you have two choices.

1. Find out where the circuit breakers for the screens are, and trip them, or
    2. Do what the pastor says.

I really hate screens in church, but ultimately everything at Mass is up to the priest saying the Mass or pastor, unless it violates ecclesial law.
  • TCJ
    Projected Lyrics: Those words which the choir director expects the choir to sing. He is often disappointed.
    Thanked by 1madorganist
  • ryandryand
    @Kathy is correct. Punctuation might not be a hill worth dying on. But, with a pastor that picky (and silly) it might be a cause worth seeking a new pastor to work for.