Apparently, I will be a music teacher now -- advice/materials recommendations appreciated
  • Hi everyone:

I got a call from the principal of a Pre-8 Catholic school yesterday, and she offered me a job as their (part-time) music teacher, on top of my duties as (also part-time) music director at my parish. (I did not apply for this job; she's a parishioner at my parish and likes what I've done with the choirs here, so she just called me up.)

I have no experience as a parochial music teacher and not a ton of experience working with kids outside of what I've done with my parish's youth schola, but everyone around me--musically inclined or otherwise--has encouraged me to accept it, and so I will and see what happens; if it doesn't work out well, at least I tried it.

So I will accept the position on Monday, barring anything unusual happening. Then I have a month or so to figure out what I want to do with each grade. Here's what I'll have to work with:

* I get each classroom once a week for about 40 minutes -- yes, that's it. There are two classrooms in each grade level. I will not work with the preschoolers, so it's K-8.
    * They have a concert/pageant for Christmas and a themed concert in spring every school year.
    * I do not know the level of musical skill in the students, though I will quickly figure that out as I start.
    * The choir for school Masses will not be my responsibility.

I will be talking to at least three music teachers in my area, but I'd like your input as well: where do I start? If I have a budget for materials (books/instruments/whatever), do you have recommendations for things to purchase, presuming they're not already on hand?

My head, as you might imagine, is spinning a little bit because this is happening very quickly. But if I do this, I want to do it right. If you can offer wise words, I would be quite grateful.
    Thanked by 2Kathy Carol