Conducting chant
  • CatherineS
    The schola I sing in uses the semiological method of interpretation, and the director (who is self-taught and has studied with various teachers, but is not a conservatory-trained musician) conducts us using gestures which I find easy to follow. But when I asked what his method was for conducting he said he just invented it. It keeps us together, in any case (six people).

When traveling I met a director at a church in another city who used the Solesmes method, and he gave me a tutorial in how to sing that way, and how to do a sort of pushing-pulling motion with ones hand to conduct. I was able to follow along but found it not at all intuitive. That said, not sure the method I know well was intuitive in the beginning, but I've been doing it for three years, so it's ingrained.

Based on a couple other instances of singing with unfamiliar groups, though, I find generally following someone's waving hand - as long as they wave in time with what they are doing - seems fairly straightforward.

I found a couple of very old threads here, but didn't resurrect them. This one, for instance, showed a very unusual style of conducting that strikes me as 'too much information'...but it seems fruitful, so that's good.

The actual question: Are there techniques/schools/methods of conducting gregorian chant? Does anyone here use a particular method for particular reasons? Or are most people just inventing whatever works? Why or why not? Does it depend on what kind of choir you are conducting (kids, amateurs, etc.?)
    Thanked by 1Incardination
  • Andrew_Malton