two-part plain song
  • Hello,

I'm new on this forum; it was suggested that I join and ask the following question. Perhaps you can offer some ideas. I am a jazz pianist/music college professor, and a Catholic convert since Easter Vigil 2014. I love sacred music and Gregorian chant; my parish does not, for the most part. I have found a fellow parishioner who would like to join me in quietly singing in front of the Blessed Sacrament. We will begin this Friday, by chanting the rosary in Gregorian chant form. Are there any two-part chants or other sacred music pieces that you know of that we might try? I love Palestrina, Allegri, all of the great composers of sacred music from around the early Renaissance era. But simple chants would also be wonderful. Thank you!

Best wishes
  • canadashcanadash
    Hello!

I think a great chant resource is the "Parish Book of Chant." The free pdf is here: https://media.musicasacra.com/books/pbc_2nd.pdf but it is not expensive and great to have in book form. Pages 170-210 would be appropriate.

You could also look for a two part version of the St. Gregory Hymnal. Here they have music listed according to use (i.e. Eucharistic hymns...)

If you do a search of this forum threads like this one come up: https://forum.musicasacra.com/forum/discussion/12284/needed-music-for-two-part-choir-sb-or-s-ta-b-with-or-without-organ/p1

Another option is to sing one of the Liturgy of the Hours for the day.

What you are planning sounds wonderful.

• irishtenoririshtenor
    Canticum Novum is a collection of 2-part music in Latin by Rev. Carlo Rossini
  • A lovely collection of short two-part motets would be the Cantiones Duarum Vocum by Orlandus Lassus. This is a set of twelve two-page-long motets for two equal voices. The texts are not eucharistic, but are scriptural. You will love them.