workshop for beginning teachers of chant
  • Hello,
    I've introduced myself before as having a musical background and a passion for Gregorian Chant but in the latter I am self-taught. I've started a Gregorian Chant group in our church. I have suffered a lot of push back from the priests which I did not expect, but because of the amount of people who show up (between 25 and 30 weekly), I have been allowed to continue and one of the 4 priests has allowed us to sing at the masses that he celebrates. Our first mass will be on the 17th Feb (vigil mass, 1st Sunday of lent). My choir members are between the ages of 6 years to adult.

I find that I am usually, sometimes barely ahead of the choir members. Does anyone know of workshops for teachers (I don't have the courage to call myself a choir director) available either in Europe (where I live), Canada or US in English. I started with Missa de Angelis, but how do I incrementally increase their repertoire? If there isn't such a course, is there a book on methodology for teaching chant. I'm winging it. Thank you all, and thank you for resources on this site.
    Thanked by 2Carol CHGiffen
  • Cathy, first - congratulations and kudos!! May your efforts be well-rewarded!

There are lots of courses and workshops that are available. CMAA typically holds a number of events that either have component sections on chant or that are chant-specific; individuals and other groups offer periodic workshops that I've seen. There are also numerous online resources.

My first suggestion would be to search CMAA events through the parent site of this discussion forum as well as a general internet search of "chant workshops" - you'll see a lot of results pop up.