Lauda Jerusalem/Ierusalem by Victoria - Where do I find the Chant Bridges??
  • TeresaW
    Hello All,

I'm new to teaching chant, and it's been a while since my classes, so I thought I'd ask here. I'm looking to teach my choir the Vesper Psalm 147 by Victoria, but the versions I've encountered online only have the SATB parts, not the chant.

Could someone show me where to find the chant and preferable in the same key signature (one sharp)?

Thank you so much!!

P.S. Here's what I'm working with so far:http://ks.petruccimusiclibrary.org/files/imglnks/usimg/1/1a/IMSLP18466-Victoria_SV06-Lauda_Jerusalem.pdf
  • PaxTecum
    The best place to find the chants for EF would be Liber Usualis... musica sacra has it online in pdf form and so does ccwatershed
    Thanked by 1Incardination
  • Richard MixRichard Mix
    The file on the IMSLP page seems to be an older version of that on Nacho Alvarez's own site, but we can probably assume the version of the intonation is according to the cited source, Manuscrito musical 130 de la Biblioteca Nazionale Vittorio Emanuele II. Roma.

You could get by with the tone 7 Lauda Jerusalem on p. 211 of the LU, using the 'a' termination outlined in the tenor. The given incipit however differs not only in the intonation (omitted on subsequent verses in any case) but has a pes at the mediation, so you might ideally want a pre-Solesmes book that agreed...

Or, you can sidestep and use organ versillos, as I assume would have been normal for Victoria. Those by Cabezon and Elias are, if not perfectly contemporary, at least great music.
  • CGM
    A choir in Rochester sang this setting a few years back at a Solemn Vespers - you could use their chanted verses as a model
    Thanked by 1M. Jackson Osborn
  • tomjaw
    You could use this to make the Psalm verses,

http://bbloomf.github.io/jgabc/psalmtone.html

You can choose the Psalm, tone and termination from the tab menus.
  • and preferable in the same key signature (one sharp)?