Parish suggestions- Cincinnati, OH
  • mariap
    Hello all!

My husband and I recently moved to the area and we are looking for a church to call home. I have been a professional cantor and volunteer choir member for about 10 years, and I am looking to join a choir in Cincinnati as well. My ideal church choir involves chanted propers (in Latin or English) so those suggestions in particular are appreciated. Ultimately, we are looking for a church with reverent liturgies in English, great music, and a warm, vibrant community.

We live near Pleasant Ridge, and were hoping for something that would be less than 30 minutes from us, but we are open to traveling a bit farther if necessary :) I would sincerely appreciate any ideas you may have! Thank you!
  • I may be a bit biased... :) but I would strongly encourage you to check out Old St. Mary's in Over the Rhine https://www.oldstmarys.org/ which is the home of the Oratorian Community in Cincinnati. Very vibrant liturgical life with OF in English, German, and Latin as well as EF on a regular basis. If you are interested, IM me and I will provide the e-mail address for the director of music. It would be a 20 minute commute from Pleasant Ridge.

Some other options... St. Gertrude in Madeira http://www.stgertrude.org/ - they are a primarily Dominican parish. I think all of the Dominicans from the Eastern division of the US receive training on chant there if not mistaken. About a 15 minute commute.

Lastly, Sacred Heart in Camp Washington https://www.sacredheartchurchcincinnati.com/ is a combined OF / EF parish connected to Old St. Mary's. They have more of an Italian connection than the German influence at Old St. Mary's. It would be about a 23-25 minute commute. The Sacred Heart Latin Mass Choir sings a number of EF Masses at Old St. Mary's.

Welcome to Cincinnati!!
  • Yes, welcome, from Augusta, KY, 46 miles down the river as well.

noel
    Thanked by 1mariap
  • CGM