Funeral Music Document...looking for suggestions
  • stepgstepg
    Hi,
    I am very new at this 'directing' thing, and the last director had a ''different music program''. I am re-building the program from the bottom up, and I have re-done the 'Funeral Music' list. I am wondering if some of you Veterans here might have a look at it and see if it's ok- wondering if you might add anything else.
    My pastor is fine with it, although he told me I'm going to get a lot of requests for 'On Eagles Wings', and I explained to him I would rather do 'pieces/hymns/songs' such as that as a prelude, and he's fine with that. I told him I would rather give the people better choices, and if they ask for other choices, I will have to deal with those on a case by case basis.
    Thank you so much in advance!
    Stephanie
    Thanked by 2CHGiffen Jenny
  • rich_enough
    Very nice selection. I see that you have included the Lux aeterna and the In paradisum - wonderful! And agree with your reasoning for leaving out the "Greatest Hits" or using them as preludes if requested. I would put "Amazing Grace" and "How Great Thou Art" in the same category, but that's a judgment call.

My only suggestion would be to set the opening and closing chants as Requiem aeternam and In paradisum, with the family choosing the songs for offertory and communion. Right now most people will assume that they are excepted to choose "four songs," which simply perpetuates the "four hymn sandwich" model.