Children sessions
  • If you had 11 sessions over the course of 8 weeks with a group of appr. 30-45 children ranging in age from 10-17... how would you go about it?

My current plan:
    Begin with Ward Method lesson--due to the number of sessions I'll have and the range in age and experience, I plan on starting with Do-Re-Mi and adding scale degrees fairly quickly. I want them to understand arsis and thesis as well as rhythmic groups of two and three fairly quickly as well.
    Follow some of the lesson plans in Words with Wings (how much to include/how far to get in the book?)
    Repertoire: Salve Regina, Missa de Angelis (starting with Kyrie and Sanctus and seeing how well they can pick it up to determine if we learn more)
    Heath Morber's "They Ate and Had Their Fill" for 2-part.

Thoughts? Recommendations? They are already a choir but this is my first time working with them. Their parents are not native English speakers, but the children are. Also, I know that they've already begun rehearsing Christmas music at their regular rehearsals...I don't know how challenging it is, but that seems like a long time to prepare...
  • Kathy
    Good plan.

I've used the Parish Book of Chant in similar situations with good effect.

My advice is to sing early and often. Mastery of a melismatic Kyrie and the Salve gives them some basis for theory.

And pray. I start with a longish prayer (intentions, silence, OF, HM, GP), and end with Marian antiphon.

Ward depends on quick, short lessons that build confidence and have a cumulative effect. Your time is short, so I would consider what the most important lessons are, and make them memorable
  • ClergetKubiszClergetKubisz