Liturgy newbie
  • Hi everyone! I'm so glad that I've found this vibrant musical forum to connect with other seasoned musicians.

I have always had a love for ancient music, but was raised in a different faith. I am currently in The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults and plan on being welcomed into the church, if all goes well, at Easter vigil. I have a degree in harp performance and vocal performance, as well as about three years experience directing/conducting a small women's vocal ensemble that sings early sacred music. We do St. Hildegard chants as well as Bernard of Clairvaux, Tomas Luis de Victoria, and other early pieces. I am convinced that it is my love of early music (and Saint Hildegard) that have brought me to the truth of the Catholic Church. I also have decent piano skills and am currently taking organ lessons.

My question is this: I would love to become more involved in the musical life of the church and aspire to becoming a director of music eventually, but I am completely clueless when it comes to liturgy. What is the best way that I can plunge into liturgy and learn as much as possible? By just attending mass, or is there something I can read or study? I have considered looking into a masters in sacred music, but am not sure if it is necessary or required. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much and God Bless!!
  • canadashcanadash
    Oh my! You sound like you will be a real blessing at a very lucky church!

I would, if I were you, find the church in your area with the BEST music program - (lots of Gregorian Chant, polyphony, propers... etc. etc.). This might be a drive. Then, attend Mass there or, if you have the time, join the choir. I think you can start learning and helping right away if you like.