Necessary, Not Sufficient: Music Degree
  • dad29
    Over the last several years, it's become more and more clear to me that a degree in music is nice, but not nearly sufficient for a position as "church musician." There are lots of examples we could point out, but that's not fruitful.

So, for discussion: should education in liturgy be another requirement? Bonus question: exactly what should that 'liturgical' education consist of??

• rich_enough
    I have multiple degrees in music and liturgy, which was good for honing the techniques of the craft, but in terms of really understanding the liturgy and what I'm trying to do as a liturgical musician I have learned more from:

(1) going to beautiful masses over the years (and being fortunate enough to be exposed to this growing up)
    (2) study on my own and CMAA colloquia
    (3) other faithful church musicians - observing what they do and the spirit in which they do it.

My "education in liturgy" was mostly learning the standard scholarly narrative of liturgical history, which I was skeptical of then and almost completely reject now. I suppose it does help me recognize it when I see it

So perhaps "education in liturgy" should look more like the CMAA colloquia and have less book learning - though the latter has its place.
  • Having not had the kind of education I'm about to suggest, I hope I can avoid the charge of hypocrisy by filing these under "now that I'm here, was there a better way?"

1) Musical training is a sine qua non but is clearly insufficient. This must include ear training.
    2) The development of a liturgical sense: that is, the praying of the Divine Office in choro. Without this, music becomes a concert
    3) THEN read the "teaching" documents of the Church -- so that they don't act in a vacuum. Here is the grammar.
    4) Choir-directing skills are important, of course, but those should be studied by apprenticeship, not by academic classroom didacticism.
    5) Service as an underling.