Lumen Christi Missal and Hymnal - seeking advice
  • Ali
    I apologize if I have miscategorized my post. I wasn't exactly sure where this would fit.

I'm seeking to connect with anyone who is currently using the Lumen Christi Missal and Hymnal at their parish and might be able to give me some advice on implementation of a few things - especially the Mass Ordinaries.

My background is that I am a music director of a moderate sized parish in Southern Maryland. I'm a vocalist myself and I manage a handful of organists, cantors, a choir, and 1 guitarist. We had been using OCP everything until the end of this past liturgical season when I convinced my pastor to make a complete change over to the Lumen Christi beginning this Advent. So, it's still new and we are finding our way, but I could use someone to talk with about some practical things who also might have some tips and advice. I've emailed Adam Bartlett, who has been a wonderful help in every way, but I also wanted to post my query here hoping for a variety of input. If there's anyone willing and able, we can begin the discussion in the comments.

TIA for your time!
  • ryandryand
    When I introduce new Ordinaries, I do it one piece at a time. For example, when I started at this job, the Ordinary was a strange mashup of contemporary settings. So, I changed the Agnus Dei and let that sit for 3-4 weeks. Then change the Kyrie. Let it sit for 3 weeks. Change the Sanctus... etc. In a neighborhood parish setting, my opinion is that it is best to do things gradually like this, so there's not a dismal culture shock.

We used Adam's Mode VIII Gloria for Easter last year, and taught it to the congregation before Mass, in 5 different sections, during Lent. When Easter arrived, they had heard it for long enough to be comfortable with singing the new setting (except for those who hate chant and just stand there scowling, but that's another issue...).