Putting the Schola in the High School (Hopefully)
  • KyleM18
    I have just been given a wonderful opportunity. Because the bishop is coming to our High School for the celebration of Mass on the Solemnity of All Saints, my choir director overrode the campus ministry director and has graciously allowed me to pick out the music for this Mass. What's more, he has allowed me to begin a schola choir "Schola Mariali" to handle the propers and any polyphonic music. Naturally, this was met with much opposition, and despite my being in multiple choirs before, I am still new to actually managing a choir. This is our current set-up:
    -Pianist (Me)
    -Two Classical guitarists
    -Viola
    -Violin
    -Drum set (Converting to timpani)
    -Bass guitar
    -Beginning choir of about 40 people
    -"Schola Mariali" of 8 people.
    Not the best set-up, but it's what we have got. Our songs for the Mass are as follows:
    Entrance Antiphon: Choral Missal 2010 (Richard Rice)
    Entrance Hymn: Ye Watchers and Ye Holy Ones
    Kyrie: Missa de miserecordiae (Pawel Bebenek)
    Gloria: Missa VIII w/ Cima (Peter Latona)
    Responsorial Psalm: John Schiavone
    Gospel Acclamation: Good News Acclamation (James Chepponis)
    Credo: ICEL Credo III
    General Intercessions: Byzantine
    Offertory Antiphon: Choral Missal 2010 (Richard Rice)
    Offertory Hymn: Spouse of Christ, whose earthly conflict
    Sanctus: Missa de miserecordiae (Pawel Bebenek)
    Mem. Acc.: A Community Mass (Richard Proulx)
    Amen: A Community Mass (Richard Proulx)
    Agnus Dei: Missa de miserecordiae (Pawel Bebenek)
    Communion Antiphon: arr. Myers
    Post-Communion Hymn: By All Your Saints Still Striving
    Recessional Hymn: For All The Saints
    Again, not the best line-up, but it'll do.

After seeing this, my three main questions are:
    1) Any improvements that I can do, especially in a high school setting