Great situations
  • Kathy
    I was just thinking that we talk a lot about miserable pastoral situations, where support for sacred music is lacking.

However, I know from experience that there are excellent situations, where the clergy and musicians work together well. So I thought I would start a thread on the subject.
  • kevinfkevinf
    I am new to the parish where I work (St. Luke Church, Palm Springs Fla). But I came here because of the marvelous leadership of the Pastor. He has instituted the propers at all the Masses, introduced the Gregorian ordinaries and wants me to build a choir school program for the kids. We meet every Monday and talk about the liturgies and what can we do. He is very involved in a good way but allows me to make my own path.

I am incredibly fortunate, having come from a place not invested at all in the liturgy. To go from pathetic leadership in the archdiocese of Louisville to this place, which sees that liturgical reform is the basis for all parish life reform is amazing. I look forward to these next years. It will be hard work but the Pastor and I will walk the road together. I am truly blessed to be in such a place.

Kevin (no longer in Kentucky and now in Florida).
  • Carl DCarl D
    Our pastor is incredibly supportive of the Propers, Ordinaries, and polyphony we do in both Latin and English. He trusts our judgment, offering gentle and thoughtful guidance. Our send priest (Nigerian) loves singing the Eucharistic Prayer, sometimes entirely in Latin.

We are blessed. Our university parish has 18 Masses a week, and confessions every day.
  • ClergetKubiszClergetKubisz
    Glad to see that things worked out for you Kevin. As for me, I'm moving on to a new school with some great people.