Choosing music for your church program
  • Priestboi
    I have a question regarding program creation and management...

When I studied choral conducting at university our conductor was very strict on choosing balanced programs, HIP (Historically informed performance) and the adaptation of vocal quality according to style.
    A program had to include various styles, be sensitive to tonalities and had to tell a story of some kind or have a particular theme.
    She was very fond of the eastern bloc and Norwegian composers due to our love of the Norwegian style of conducting. Ola Gejlo, Arvo Part, Grieg etc.

How does apply the following into a church program?

1. A variation of style - gregorian and polyphony being the primary models
    2. Sensitivity to tones/keys used in the compositions sung - Proper, dialogues, ordinary, hymns and motets
    3. Use of music from other traditions - Eastern Orthodox/Western Rite/ Anglican for example.
    4. Use of local music (enculturation)

This is a very important question as it seems that Catholic musicians often choose music in this fashion:

1. Do I like this music
    2. Does it conform to the theme of the day or the readings (I doubt the propers are consulted)
    3. Can we sing it well, or perform a convincing (or not so convincing attempt)

The result is a mishmash, rather than a whole. It also limits one to whatever music one has had experience with, rather than trying new things (both folk and classical musicians often fall in this camp).

In the Orthodox churches, it seems that if you remain in a certain school of chant, every antiphon sung adds to the whole, in such a way that it is one continuous song of praise.

I am looking to more the artistic side of planning a program. I for one would also like to know how the pieces are chosen for the colloquium, and if there is any rhyme or reason other than "does this fit the text" and is it worthy to be sung.