I'm a fifteen year old organist, new to this forum, and I just got appointed organist at my parish!
  • I've been playing the organ for three months, and since I began staff has been asking me if I was going to play for mass, so I finally took the initiative and asked if I could. The pastor said he was fine with it, but I'll have to talk to the music director to talk about when/what I'm going to play. I start the job in two weeks.

This has been a beautiful journey, learning the organ, building connections, and joining the church. I also got to play at a major cathedral and am invited to return weekly!

I'm very excited because playing the organ has been a goal of mine for a long time. However, I'm in a predicament. Should I ask for pay or not? On one hand, I consider playing during mass to be a donation to the church in return for them letting me play the organ, but on the other hand this is a skilled service and I want to get what I'm working for. What do you think? Should I just play part-time for free at this church and play for pay at another church I have connections to?

Another reason why I don't think it's a good idea to ask for pay is that I'm only fifteen (obviously without a degree in organ performance) and there are plenty people more qualified than me.
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    I've been playing the organ for three months

You should not be paid to play the organ.

If they want to pay you - if they offer you anything at all - accept it graciously. (And don't forget to tithe!) But don't ask for anything right now.

Consider it an internship.
  • canadashcanadash
    I would like to know, do you take piano lessons? Are you now taking organ lessons? What about theory?

If you are already taking piano lessons and have to pay for organ lessons, I would consider asking for help with these. They are expensive.
  • SalieriSalieri