"m" in St. Gall
  • JonLaird
    My understanding is that "m" that appears in St. Gall manuscripts means mediocriter. When it appears alone is it presumed to refer to the relative change in pitch? For instance, I'm looking at in the introit Oculi mei for the third Sunday of Lent, p 96 of the Triplex. At the beginning of the third system at respice there is a virga with m above it. Does this indicate to the interpreter that the virga is higher, but not too much higher, than the previous pitch ending at meos?

I'm fairly new to reading the medieval neumes so I appreciate the assistance of anyone with more experience.
  • Yes.
    Thanked by 1JonLaird
  • I was sort of hoping that a greater scholar than I would weigh in on the matter of the Romanian letters. The relatively terse treatment of them by Cardine is disappointing. I'm sure he could have said much more. There is some discussion of them in Hiley's great Handbook..., which is the successor to Apel's work. For the most part these letters really get short shrift. Semiologists attempt to do them some justice, but as for the not-Solesmes-method folks, their existence is ignored totally.