New (and free) propers online from Fr. Columba Kelly
  • Announcing the Sacred Music Project. (www.sacredmusicproject.com)

Fr. Columba Kelly, OSB, of St. Meinrad Archabbey is now sharing with the world his chant settings of the antiphons of the Roman Missal, among other settings--for free. Read a complete description here. The chants are arranged in pdf booklets that are ready to be printed for liturgical use. They contain the Introit, Responsorial Psalm (for privileged seasons) Gospel Acclamations and Communion antiphons as given by the Roman Missal. The complexity of the chants falls somewhere between the Introits and Communions of the Graduale Romanum and the chants of the Graduale Simplex. This work is masterful and it is very exciting to publicly release it for the first time.

About the Sacred Music Project: It is a project that I have been considering for several years now. Aspirations for the site might enter into the "liturgical cpdl" conversation that is happening in this forum. If anyone has an interest in discussing this more or in getting involved in the project please email me at adam@sacredmusicproject.com.

[note: the project website is no longer operational, so the links listed here don't work any more. See below for more information. --admin]
  • Of course this is a wonderful thing, inauspiciously announced. He has been working on this project for decades, and, suddenly, it appears before our eyes. Everyone please go to see what has has done. This is certainly the way of the future, both in content and mode of delivery.

Thank you again Adam for all of your hard work!
    Thanked by 1HeitorCaballero
  • Columba Kelly has provided an extremely useful resource. His antiphons hold considerable musical interest; yet , unlike the proper chants of the Graduale or versions of them adapted to English words, these chants are easy enough for amateur choirs to sing without an unreasonable amount of rehearsal.