Words With Wings prerequisites
  • Howdy all,
    I will be teaching a group of kids Gregorian chant using Words With Wings. This will be my first time teaching chant to kids of a younger age. The kids that I will be teaching do not have any prior experience with solfege, and I am wondering how well they should know it before using the actual text. Any suggestions on teaching solfege to kids would be welcome, as would any recommendations on using Words With Wings.
    Thanks!
  • Hi Daniel. I am an amateur at all this. i have a schola for last two and a half years for kids aged 6 to nine. I got words with wings but found it too advanced to use, though I can understand what they were trying to do. However I found it did not explain things enough to me to teach, so how could I pass it on to the kids? I turned to Ward music method, and even from the bit I could learn from the free books on musica sacra, which are older editions, I was able to get going. The kids went from no music education to being able to read chant in one year, one lesson per week. I have since bought the Ward method material from CUA, a more updated version, which is a bit clearer, and done a weeks training with them this summer. this gave me a whole new level, and I strongly reccommend it, scholarships are available, so just the cost of getting there and accommodation at cheap enough student rates.
    I am also using Ward methods successfully with adults. i acknowledge my experience is limited, but Mrs Ward developed the method with teachers like me in mind, who do not have huge musical training (though i working hard to develop it.
    I have developed an award system which i am putting up called Jubilate Deo Awards, you can get my beginner materials there.
    I like the very practical way Ward breaks down music ito parts and teaches a bit at a time Wilker Brouwers uses Ward method I know, so I think it is sort off the presumed background to using Words with wings.