Christ Is Alive!--a Critique
  • Kathy
    Here is one final critique from my archives that I feel is worth sharing. Its history is this: I was attending a Seminar on Teaching Hymnology at Calvin College and our class project was to work with a partner to provide input on a forthcoming new hymnal for the Christian Reformed Church. It gave me an opportunity to write out my reasons for thinking there are theological problems with Christ Is Alive, which is ordinarily set to the very enjoyable TRURO. I have a degree in theology so this reflection is written in a denser, non-bloggy style.

(For those who might be interested I have a much less urgent criticism of 'Tis Good, Lord, to be Here, here: http://hymnographyunbound.blogspot.com/2006/03/hymn-that-has-its-ups-and-downs.html
    What I mean by "less urgent" is that I would not hesitate to sing this hymn at Mass, even though I avoid programming it.)

Christ Is Alive!

This hymn, while popular, is theologically problematic.

In verse 1, the image of an empty cross against the sky is used. Biblically, this image cannot represent the resurrection, because the cross was already “empty” on Good Friday evening, when the Lord was dead. The empty tomb is the biblical symbol of the resurrection, not the empty cross. Poetically there is a problem as well: the usual reworking of the fourth line “His love in death shall never die” is not a clear English expression.

In verse 2, the implication is that there was a time when Christ was “bound to distant years in Palestine.” But that implies that the Trinity was deficient during the time of the earthly life of Jesus, which cannot be correct.

Verse 3 implies that God was remote from His people until the resurrection. But this is not true for many reasons: first, God’s holiness was a holiness of presence and intimacy with the Hebrew community. Secondly, I John connects the tangibility of Jesus with the Incarnation, not the resurrection.