Music Ministry Alive!
  • David AndrewDavid Andrew
    I hope that got people's attention.

EDIT: In response to a kind e-mail from a colleague on this forum, I decided to recast the question, especially in light of some of the responses.

So, here's the new question:

With offerings like Music Ministry Alive! being actively promoted by some folks in my parish, including the Youth Minister, what alternatives are there for young people who wish to become better acquainted with the fullness of the received traditions of the Church?

Also, how does one effectively control the spread of some of the more suspect ideologies of David Haas within the context of a large, suburban parish?

Read below to see some interesting posts, including the idea that CMAA should develop a more "youth-oriented" branch. (Ugh, I hate that term, but sometimes you must fight fire with fire!)
  • I have no experience with this sort of thing... Perhaps you could talk about a program you would like to do that would be more appropriate to what you're working toward with the youth and get it going?

Perhaps you can build from your volunteer's encouragement in getting youth more involved in music and steer it toward what you'd want them to learn... perhaps a kids' version of a Sacred Music Workshop? It is a lot of work involved, but maybe it would have a long-lasting positive effect on the music program... if you and your parish are up for it, you could even perhaps get Jeffrey or Arlene or someone else who has had success with youth programs in their parishes to come up and help you with it... even open it up to other parishes in the area, perhaps. Phrased the right way, you could even give the volunteer credit for giving you the idea of planning something particularly with youth in mind. Maybe you can enlist her help...

What is MMA, anyway? Never heard of it...