Training resources -sacred music, choirs, the whole shabang!
  • Hi all!

I would like to find out what kind of training the average chorister, choir member and organist needs as well as the kind of information you would require to improve your music programs or persuade your priests in an average parish.

I am in the process of creating free manuals and recordings and would like to know some of the materials or services that you would find useful for me to develop.

Please keep the ideas coming!
  • donr
    @Priestboi, If you are creating free manuals and recordings send them my way.

All I can do is tell you my situation and hope that it helps you to help me.

I have an all volunteer choir and I am a volunteer Music Director.
    My hopes and dreams are to have Sacred Music in the church with a real paid Director someday. But in the meantime our little church has what it has (me).
    I am not a degreed musician but have taken music lessons privately from instructors and on the internet (currently taking organ lessons from Frogman Music internet videos).

So to answer your question:
    I would like to see videos on proper breathe technique, diction, stance, Latin pronunciation, actually an language pronunciation that one would use for Mass (German, Italian, Polish, French, etc). Listen to recordings on Youtube only gets you so far.

It is important to me to get the choir trained properly so that when they have an experienced or properly trained director, he/she doesn't have to start from scratch.

A video series that would help directors like me would be much welcomed and appreciated.
    Thanked by 2Priestboi canadash
  • That is exactly what Im looking for!

I have some ideas already, but it is important for me to forget what I think is correct and and necessary and hear what others are looking for and what they need.

Thank you for responding! I appreciate it very much!
  • JulieCollJulieColl