Rubrics question for sung Mass
  • After reading through much information on the forums, and inquiring of a few acquaintances, I thought I'd post my question here as I'm still a bit puzzled/confused. My background is Episcopal (Anglo-Catholic) and our rubrics aren't as meticulous as those of the Catholic church. Thanks to the forums and the wealth of info through CMAA, I've become quite enlightened. However, as a composer, there is a small matter for which I could really use better understanding.

It is my understanding that when the Gloria and Credo are sung, the celebrant must intone them, and the choir/schola may not repeat the words of the intonation in the musical setting that continues thence, at least for EF. For Missa Cantata, I'm told the choir may intone the Gloria. I completed a Missa Solemnis earlier this year and posted it, but I admit now I'm in a bit of a fog on the intonation issue.

My Gloria begins with the Iona Gloria, while the Credo does begin with an intonation of sorts. So my question is then, at what type of Mass would my Missa Solemnis be appropriate, since it's lacking in "true" intonations for these two sections? EF? Missa Cantata? OF? Also, at what type of Mass would a Missa Brevis be sung? What somewhat contributes to my confusion is that the rubrics seems to be rather strict about intonations, yet so many churches use masses by Baroque and Classical composers for special occasions (EF, presumably), masses that lack intonations. If rubrics require intonations in EF, how then do Baroque masses fit in?

As a composer, I write music to be sung and enjoyed (AMDG), and to allow that music to bring people closer to our Creator and all His wonderful Mysteries. Since my mass settings are geared for Catholic use, it would be helpful to have a better understanding of "what goes where" so to speak, so that I might be mindful of this when composing. Things like "where intonations are a must" etc.

Please un-confuse me!