organ improvs
  • francis
    ok... been thinking about this for a while now. Eveyone is invited to record and post organ improvs here. If you can, give us when it occurred during the liturgy and what the motive may have been or the inspiration behind the work.
  • eft94530eft94530
    Three years ago a parishioner in the pews
    surprised me with an email and a cellphone-captured soundfile.

Just now while checking some office music computer directories,
    I came across the file and decided to upload it.

Sunday June 26, 2011 during 8:30 am Mass
    Solemnity of Corpus Christi
    Offertory

The cantor chanted
    Graduale Romanum Offertory "Portas caeli"
    (as found in Gregorian Missal p 422)
    http://www.musicasacra.com/books/gregorianmissal-eng.pdf

I started playing about four seconds later
    and continued about 2 minutes.

Motive: "Portas caeli" and ???
    Imagery: "opened the doors" and "rained down manna" and "man ate".
  • Cantus67Cantus67
    My organist Sam IS the definition of girl power on the organ. I love her improvs.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HufcRnVxr7o
    Thanked by 2CHGiffen expeditus1
  • mrcoppermrcopper
    Sam's major ninth below a triad IS a good effect in the pedal .. but really: would anyone COMPOSE this music? NO! I'd rather music be composed than improvised any day.

Makes a composer humble though, to think that your weeks of work can be replaced by 30 seconds of instinct.
    Thanked by 1hilluminar
  • francis
    Makes a composer humble though, to think that your weeks of work can be replaced by 30 seconds of instinct.

All composers should be up to both. Then, the composer's improv will seem as though it was written out beforehand.

Cantus67:

What is the purpose of the page turning if this is improv?
  • francis
    mrcopper: