Modal Accompaniment
  • marajoymarajoy
    where can I find a good explanation of "modal scales," versus "tonal scales?" I have a music school degree, but somehow this was bypassed in my education! I really want to learn how to properly accompany gregorian chant (of course the discussion of that appropriateness has been beaten to death, but, well, sometimes it is necessary.)
    I appreciate articles like this:
    http://chabanelpsalms.org/introductory_material/modus_operandi_modal_accompaniment.htm
    in it's great discussion of things that I can understand like voice leading, but in this and in other things I've read, there is an assumption of a knowledge of what actually a "mode" is, and how to utilize it. Is the explanation something so simple that I'm just skipping over it? Like, for example I've heard some explanation that didn't really make sense at all to me, that the white keys from D-D on a piano are one mode? Is it simply the starting and ending notes which affect what mode it is in, and certain accidentals can't be used? Isn't it really then that the last note is the only thing that matters? (if you use all white keys on the piano) Or is there disagreement over this? (I know people can fail to distinguish between the church modes and greek modes...and I certainly have no idea of the difference!)
    I'm looking at this webpage, which seems to have a chart that should be helpful at the bottom
    http://people.vanderbilt.edu/~cynthia.cyrus/ORB/orbmode.htm
    but...when the chart describes the "range" and the "tenor" (the reciting tone, which should be the Gloria Patri attached to at least the Introits?) and then I compare what the particular notes should be with the chants in the Graduale, it often doesn't seem to be true! (after my quick glance at several chants, it seems the only consistently correct thing is what the "final" is.)