My priest opposes Latin hymns and sung propers. Advice?
  • soarmarcsoarmarc
    Hi all,

A brief introduction: I am a rookie choir/music director at a suburban Catholic parish outside of Toronto, Canada. Since September, I have been leading the music at our main Sunday Mass with a small choir of 5-6 people.

For the 20+ years that I have grown up in this parish, it's been 4-hymn sandwich all the way, and everything from P&W to Glo-ri-a *clap* *clap*. But over the past six months, I have been working to change that. Things had been going well, up until today.

Being the First Sunday of Lent, I decided to program some traditional hymns, sing some Latin, and (possibly for the first time in the 50+ year history of my parish) sing the proper antiphon for Communion.

Let's just say that my parish priest was not impressed.

The program was as follows:

1st Sunday of Lent
    Entrance: Forty Days and Forty Nights (HEINLEIN)
    Kyrie XVII, option B
    Offertory: Attende Domine (Chant in Latin)
    Sanctus: ICEL English chant
    Agnus Dei XVIII
    Communion: SEP, followed by Eat This Bread (Taize refrain)
    Recessional: Lord, Who Throughout These Forty Days (ST. FLAVIAN)

Following the Mass, my pastor gave me the following "requests":

1. No Latin hymn at Offertory. In his words, the Offertory is a time for the congregation "to sing and praise God."

My thoughts: I have no reservations about singing in Latin when the hymn is in our Gather hymnal, as is the case with Attende Domine. However, that's not the issue---I don't know of any liturgical guidance that deems Offertory as the time for a congregational hymn.

2. No proper antiphon at Communion. My pastor believes that music at Communion must be either the antiphon or a hymn, but not both. And he says since the antiphon is usually not long enough to chant until the end of the Communion procession, a "hymn is preferable."

My thoughts: