Folder + Hymnal storage
  • Currently, our choir has folders and hymnals in stacks on a table. It's disorganized, and quite laborious/messy for members to quickly locate their numbered folder.

So, we're looking for a good bookshelf or media shelf with dividers that fit a 1" folder (sized 12"x12"...standard, Avery black folder) and a Gather hymnal. Unfortunately, I had no idea how hard it is to find a bookshelf with small dividers, with appropriately sized spaces. Does anybody have any suggestions for choir folder+hymnal storage bookshelves?
  • CharlesW
    You can spend a lot of money with companies that provide church furniture. I happened to have a couple of good hobby carpenters in my parish that could make what I needed at a much lower cost.

As a librarian, I am familiar with your choir's filing system. We call it the "flingit" method - they fling it here, they fling it there... Nice to know my choir is not the only one that does that.
    Thanked by 1canadash
  • CHGiffenCHGiffen
    Let your flingers do the walking wailing ...
    Thanked by 1CharlesW
  • Why not let your choristers take their folders home? That way they can practice on their own between rehearsals. :)

(In my experience, that doesn't seem to work well either.)
    Thanked by 1CharlesW
  • Carl DCarl D
    I agree with Charles. This would be easy for an amateur carpenter, especially if you don't need great beauty.
    Thanked by 1canadash
  • I agree that a local carpenter is your best bet, but that could take a while. If you want a quicker (and cheaper) solution, buy a bunch of metal bookends and arrange them to make slots along a table, counter, or shelf. It's certainly not ideal aesthetically, but it will work.
  • BenBen
    Not sure I fully understand... Wouldn't any standard bookshelf work? Why the need for a "choir bookshelf?" Try checking things like craigslist.
    Thanked by 1Adam Wood