Are you organisits passing along your gifts
  • donr
    You know I used to play drums semi-professionally, but when I was a young lad my instructor told me that if you want to live forever teach someone your craft. You will live forever because a little part of you will be left in future generations.

So the question is if you have the ability to teach organ, are you?
    If not should you be?

We need future generations to play the organ. There are probably young men or women (or old men or women) who listen to you on a weekly basis and think, "I would love to play the organ".

I am a little selfish in this as I would love to play the organ, so If anyone in the Phoenix or Tucson area would like to teach I would like to start here?
    Thanked by 1canadash
  • matthewjmatthewj
    I will be giving my Spanish assistant at the Cathedral some free organ tutorials (not quite lessons) in the new year. If you were free at the times those are taking place you could join us.
  • I've given organ tutorials several times, and I also have a video tutorial on YouTube. I have offered to give lessons to those who wish, but I make it clear that they must be able to practice or they must have two appointments with me: one for the organ and one to practice manual parts at the piano. I want them to understand what they are getting into, as I have several students who simply think it would be fun to play with the instrument and make a lot of noise, then quit after the second or third lesson. If I am going to teach them to play, they must make a commitment to learn.
  • I agree with ClergetKubisz. It was when I bought myself a pair of expensive organ-shoes, as a neophyte, that my organ teacher (Mrs. Merrowyn Deacon, here in Melbourne) perceived the fact that I meant business and wasn't just wanting to muck around. These shoes I've used ever since, it so happens.