Pre-Pian Vesperal Psalter
  • Happy Feast Day,

Over a year ago I started working on a typesetting project, where I hoped to produce a booklet for weekly Vespers according to the pre-Pian (pre-1911) Roman Psalter, using music from Solesmes editions that included the 'rhythmic signs'. I began doing this simply to see for myself what the Divine Office was like before all the psalms got moved around. I recently had a bit of time on my hands though, which I used to graduate from cutting and pasting print-screened plainchant images into Word documents, to doing everything in gregorio + Latex. I'm still learning, but I'm pretty happy with my results so far, so I thought I'd share in case anyone is interested.

My new document includes not just the ferial psalms and antiphons, but also:

-hymns (pre-Urban VIII text, apologies if anyone had a special devotion to the gods on Mt Olympus, Liber Usualis melodies, with extra seasonal melodies for use ad libitum from the Antiphonale Monasticum),
    -"pointed" psalm text wherever possible for ease of singing,
    -ferial Magnificat antiphons,
    -Preces feriales,
    -Tridentine commemorations,

and some ornamentation that I had fun with, such as an oversize 4-colour letter D. Essentially, all parts of the Office are laid out clearly, and all the music is there for an entirely sung Dominical/Semiduplex, Simplex or Ferial Vespers per annum, with the appropriate orations or Magnificat antiphons supplied from another source (like a Liber Usualis).