Best Organ/Choral/Church Music programs
  • PaixGioiaAmorPaixGioiaAmor
    What would you say are the best schools (and teachers) with which to get an advanced degree (MM or DMA/PhD) in Organ, Choral Conducting, or Church Music?

How would you rank these (inter-)nationally known schools?

Indianna
    Julliard
    Cleveland Institute of Music
    University of Michigan
    University of Cincinnatti
    Eastman
    North Texas

I'm an entering grad student at one of the above named schools, but even if you know which it is, don't let that color your answers. I'd like to know where colleagues rate these schools. Oberlin is deliberately left off because they do not offer graduate level organ study (unless you count historical performance, which I'm leaving out of this particular discussion.)
  • CharlesW
    I have always considered Cleveland and Indiana at the top of the heap. Others may differ, but as the CA sage says, YMMV.
  • If you want only choral conducting, the University of Louisville has an outstanding director. You would have the chance to sing with a uncommonly good choir too. I don't think any collegiate choir is more internationally known. I feel like the choral vocal style encouraged there is ideal for chant/polyphony/Church music. One of his students has gone on to conduct the National Chorus of Korea.

View list of UofL master's degrees here (There is an organ one too).

Louisville is a very Catholic city with probably about 40 parishes or so, so I bet you could find work too.
    Thanks Hilary. At the moment this is theoretical and informational only. But I'll keep this in mind!
  • SkirpRSkirpR
    University of Michigan is the king of DMA Choral Conducting programs right now. While their graduates know their stuff, I don't find all of them particularly engaging on the podium (clear, but not engaging), but they all seem to get jobs no problem because of the reputation of the program. Just my own frank opinion.