Chinese plainchant in gregorio
  • benstoxbenstox
    Just in case this proves useful to someone in the future, I've managed to produce a Traditional characters Chinese plainchant score in gregorio + lualatex, using the package luatexja. I'm very new to tex/latex/gregorio, but I managed it with some tinkering.

Just install luatexja and call it up with \usepackage{luatexja}.

The following line of code is essential however:

\renewcommand{\char}{\ltjalchar}

Without this somewhere (probably in the preamble) certain gregorio glyphs get replaced, curiously, by roman characters. I had all the pedes for example replaced by "Ë"s on the score. Although clives and puncta didn't seem to be affected, I suspect there are other glyphs that would be in a more melismatic score.
  • This will prove very useful to an acquaintance who is a missionary in China who is working with me to turn the Graduale Simplex into Chinese.
    Thanked by 1Kathy
  • benstoxbenstox
    Paul,

That's very interesting actually. Do you have any Chinese Simplex propers produced already? Are you aware of any other Chinese Gregorian propers? Please let me know if I can assist you any further in this project.
  • chonakchonak
    Thanks, benstox. If you haven't written on the gregorio-users mailing list about this method yet, it would be good to share the info with folks there.
  • AnthonyFok
    Thank you benstox! Good to hear that I am not alone. :-)

The Gregorio and LuaTeX-ja compatibility issue is now reported on Gregorio Project’s GitHub repository here: https://github.com/gregorio-project/gregorio/issues/1107, titled "Square notes and lyrics disppear with \usepackage{luatexja}".
    Thanked by 1benstox