Brand new Catholic and church musician HELP!
  • Ok. I am an ex-Protestant musician just getting started as church musician for a very small church. My goal is to bottom-line help people worship in the best possible using whatever gifts/efforts I can. I'm frankly not capable or interested (at least right now) in playing/singing a strictly "traditional" Catholic Mass. I'm busily trying to drop the Protestant baggage of "reinventing the wheel" for each and every service, and figuring out how best to please the attenders' "musical tastes".

I play either organ or piano, and serve as cantor. I also have one person who joins me when he can. I use Today's Liturgy, which goes with Breaking Bread hymnals. I chose Schutte's Mass because I had been attending a nearby parish that used it and was also used at mass service preceding mine. Please let me know if choices below are "kosher". I'm so used to the "anything goes" style, I don't want to throw people off. The only people I have to help me is a priest that allowed last pianist to choose anything from hymnal, probably due to his inexperience, and really let's me do anything I want.

My choices so far for this Sunday the 20th are:
    Entrance: Gather Us In (Haugen)
    Kyrie*
    Gloria*
    Psalm Responsorial from "respond and acclaim"
    Alleluia from "respond and acclaim"
    Preparation Hymn: Give Me Ears to Listen (Smith)
    Sanctus*
    Mystery of Faith "When we eat this bread..."*
    Amen*
    Agnus Dei*
    Communion Hymn: Shelter Me, O God (Hurd)
    Sending Forth: Take the Word of God with You (walker/Harrison)
    *MASS OF CHRIST THE SAVIOR (Schutte)

Please advise me about these. I'm on a huge learning curve, and what with having to learn both singing ans accompaniment parts, it's huge. I want to make sure all selections are as supportive as possible with the Mass and helps as much as possible.

Thank you for your time!
    Thanked by 1Andrew Motyka
  • irishtenoririshtenor