Help with Latin phonetic pronunciation
  • I recently wrote a new composition that will be published soon. The text is in English with the exception of two Latin words: "Deo gratias." I'd like to have a phonetic spelling of the Latin pronunciation as a possible footnote on the first page of the score, especially for those who do not know how to pronounce Latin. What would be the best way to do this? The following options have been suggested to me:

1. Day-o grah-tsee-oss

2. Deh-aw gra-tsee-ahs

Or...?

Thanks for any help.
  • chonakchonak
    Maybe this is sort of opinionated, but I'd write it in International Phonetic Alphabet, and leave anything else to the choir director.

I think of pseudo-English phonetic renderings as misleading for those who don't speak Latin yet, and patronizing to those who have learned it.

I'm not an expert on IPA, but (for what it's worth) I'd write it as [dˈɛ.ᴐ gɾˈaːtsi.as] . Perhaps someone could improve on that rendering.
    Thanked by 1Earl_Grey
  • Richard Chonak,

Thanks for your comments. Yes, English phonetic renderings can be somewhat misleading, as it's a challenge to spell Latin vowel sounds with English quasi-equivalents. For example, I know that the first syllable of the word "Deo" doesn't have a long "A" sound (as in the word "day"), but I'm not sure if the English syllable "deh" is quite right, either.
  • melofluentmelofluent