"On this day O Beautiful Mother" ... analysis by Fr. Brunner = "unfit"
  • I've seen the article Fr. Brunner wrote in the 1953 edition of "Cecilia". Though for the most part I don't trust the musical "taste" of most musically untrained clergy, Fr. Brunner has a point about the hymn. I have less issue with the text than I do the harmonic structure. If sung in Latin, in the Rennaisance style of a Paletrina, Vittoria or des Prez, it could possibly work.

I have a CD (remastered from an LP) from 1957, with Theodore Marier, and Mother Josephine Morgan at Piux X summer school as narrators on the topic of "good hymnody." The summer school choir sings some selections from the recently published (1953) Piux X hymnal. To be sure, a couple of the hymns texts might be considered "dated" today, but the harmonic craftsmanship of all the hymns they sang were of good quality. Mr. Marier (editor at McLaughlin & Reilly, and publisher of Piux X hymnal), along with some other contributers to the hymnal, were very selective about the hymns they chose for the hymnal. I believe the Piux X hymnal was a radical move for its day, in distancing itself from the sappy hymns from the Victorian era and early 20th C. (Not unlike Mr. Marier's "Hymns, Psalms & Spiritual Canticles" of our day in response to the likes of Haugen, Haas, Talbot, Soper and their ilk of OCP.)

You will note that "On This Day" was omitted from the Piux X hymnal. However, a number of beautiful hymn tunes to the BVM are included, as well as chants on "Ave Maria" and "Ave Maris Stella" and the "Magnificat". And polyphonic settings of Vittoria, Mauro-Cottone as well. One favorite hymn setting of mine is "Thou Art the Star of Morning" which isn't sung nearly enough.

Also interesting to note, that the editors of Piux X hymnal chose to omit "Immaculate Mary", yet Mr. Marier included it in his own hymnal 20 yrs. later. Hard to know what their reasoning was back in 1953.