Chanting Propers with multiple verses
  • nicolem
    I'm very new to the concept of the Propers, but have been teaching myself the Gregorian Introits for about the past month or so. I've also introduced my children's choir to the Simple English Propers, and they latched on to it VERY quickly. (Meanwhile, showing them Mass VIII in chant notation has been (understandably) more of a challenge for them to grasp with the melismas...) However, I did notice that the SEPs have multiple verses, while my Gregorian Introit (which I'm taking from the Gregorian Missal from MS) only shows one verse. My question is: when there are multiple verses, does one go back and sing the refrain/antiphon every time between verses, or would it simply go antiphon, verse1, verse2, etc, Gloria Patri, antiphon? I also noticed that all the SEP practice videos only ever seem to incorporate one verse... Any guidance would be much appreciated!
  • tomjaw
    The verses for the Introit are found here;

http://media.musicasacra.com/pdf/psalmorum.pdf

It should be noted that the psalm verse endings in the above book can be the more complex version, than that found in the Liber Usualis etc. When we sing them I make up sheets with all the music on them. See attachment below:

In the Traditional Form, we would usually sing Antiphon, Verse, Gloria, Antiphon as suggested in the Liber Usualis. But when the Introit is very short we either sing

Ant., verse, Ant., Gloria, Ant.

OR

Ant., Verse 1, Ant., Verse 2, Ant., Gloria, Ant.

There is a third verse in the above book but I can't see that there would be the time to sing all 3 verses in most places / days.

• Jeffrey Tucker deals with the performance in the introduction to the SEP: