Hello Everyone
  • Hi everyone,

I've been reading Chant Cafe for a while now and have recently decided to spend time to teach myself how to sing. I attend a local parish that is rife with bad hymns, "teen" music, and a neglected organ. I hope to eventually start a schola for the parish and eventually to be able to provide music for one of the Sunday liturgies.

However, as I am just starting out, I was hoping for some advice. I am doing all I can to teach myself the art, but how do I bring people to form a group without rousing the suspicion of more liberally-inclined parishoners? And about that organ: is it worth learning to play it by practicing on a keyboard, or should I just focus on the singing?

I'm just starting out and relatively young (23), so while hopeful, I've kept my expectations reserved. So what are your thoughts about what I can do to make this a success?
  • CharlesW
    First, talk to the pastor. You will not accomplish much without his support. Find out what he wants and if he will back you in forming a schola and singing better music. If so, talk to singers you can trust. Determine if they have friends who also might like to sing. Ask the pastor if he will pay an organist for one mass. Organ students and retired organists often are looking for a little work, and may not charge a large amount.
    Thanked by 3Gavin PMulholland donr
  • If you haven't seen it already, you might enjoy reading an article that Arlene and Jeffery published a few years back: "How to Start Your Own Garage Schola"
    http://www.ceciliaschola.org/pdf/garage.pdf

They bring up some good points about how to start gradually and build support without, as you say, arousing suspicion in the parish.
  • GavinGavin
    Don't teach yourself how to sing. Find a teacher. And as for your schola idea, find an experienced choirmaster to help you out. Learn from the best. There's probably an experienced chanter around who can help you out with your goals.
    Thanked by 2IanW donr