• I seem to recall reading somewhere on this forum or perhaps it was somewhere else a nice article discussing the Dies Irae which included a singable translation. I'm all for Latin and original language but I need to take the baby steps approach. I pieced together a singable English version of the Corpus Christi sequence which I have been using now for a few years, and have been thinking it would be nice to sing the Dies Irae as a choir piece perhaps during communion this November. Anyone know of a singable English Translation or even a performance score? Who knows, perhaps someone will hear it and actually request it for their funeral!
  • TCJ
    I think (but am not sure) the Adoremus hymnal has an English translation of it, but not the traditional chant melody.
  • My first try at something like this, so go easy on me. Hope this works for you. The translation is from the 1965 Missal.
    Thanked by 3Ben Earl_Grey Chrism
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    I like it.... except for "s'pulchers." That was weird.
    Thanked by 1ClemensRomanus
  • Come to think of it, it may have been the Adoremus Hymnal where I saw it previously. Thanks for the above version as well. What program do you use to notate the numes?
  • I used the illuminarepublications.com/gregorio website.

Adam, thanks, I'll fix it.
    Thanked by 1Earl_Grey
  • Liam
    Perhaps "rock tombs"? A little alliteration with "ringeth" while also tying to "earth".
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    rock tombs?
    eesh

I would change:
    Through the earth's s'pulchers it ringeth
    to:
    Through earth's sepulchers it ringeth.

No change in meaning or imagery, and the trochaic meter is preserved better than before.

• Yeah, I took out the word 'the' and it flows so much better. Thanks to all. I'll post the revised versioni later.
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    Speaking of trochaic meter (my favorite meter), I will now waste all your time by posting a poem I wrote about trochaic meter...