Hello, I am new, and so is our parish children's choir
  • Hello! I'm not sure if there is an Official Forum Section for introductions or not, so I will keep this brief. I'm a teacher...of things other than choir, and I'm starting a children's choir at our parish this year. We homeschool and I led a small homeschool choir/music class last year, so I am not entirely new to directing children's choirs. On the other hand, I have quite a lot to learn.

I am in possession of both Ward method books and am going to use some of the techniques. I also have Lee Gwozdz's Toys That Teach DVD and materials, some of which I used last year. I used Michicko Yurko's "Blue Jello" approach to teaching rhythm with some success, and I convinced my library to order Kenneth Phillips' Teaching Kids to Sing book so that I can check it out over and over instead of buying it myself yet.

So I feel like I have some good resources in terms of vocal development for the kids. I went to one of the chant workshops in Alabama about five years ago and acquired books which then became fixtures on my bookshelf because I wasn't in a choir that was looking to start chant...I went primarily for my own edification.

I'm going to assemble a folder for the kids with some fairly simple and traditional hymns, Mass parts, and a few of the hymns from the Ward hymnal. I have been a little vague with parents about what our "repertoire" will be because we aren't a Latin-using parish...at all. So I'm going to try to sneak things in gradually.

Anyway, any suggestions are welcome. I know it would be ideal for me to have a degree in music and have taken Ward classes, etc., but I figure the parish has to start somewhere, since there's no children's choir at all right now. So they get me.
  • Beautiful!