iPad as Sacred Music Library
  • What do you think of this?

I'm not too crazy about this particular application, but it is an example of what can and will be done. This basic idea has already been discussed a bit here.

I can tell you that I can't wait for my Easter present!
  • mjballoumjballou
    There are some dedicated electronic score applications out there, but because they are pricey and single-use I haven't looked at them. The other problem - and maybe one the iPad won't have - is their uselessness in sunlight. As a harpist with lots of outdoor gigs, the ability to see the screen clearly is a must. Their strong point is the ability to set up playlists very easily - something that would also be great for vocal music. (Do you know how many black binders I have?)

So I'll have to keep my eye on this one. Thanks for the heads up, Adam.
  • Carl DCarl D
    I've been monitoring this whole market for several years, so it's great to see people experimenting now with these kinds of applications. I agree that this app may not be ready for prime time yet, but it's a start.

It didn't look like they allow you to make notes and squiggles which show up ON the music itself, and they don't say how you can get your own music into the application.

But it's progress.
  • If I were to use this as my conductor's score, I see pros and cons. Page "turning" becomes a little easier, assuming I can just swipe a finger. I like the visual metronome, as my choir constantly rushes. The app's page does mention that eventually we can import our own scores. However, I mark scores like crazy, mostly for cues, and I see nothing in this app that even approximates what I'd need in that regard.
  • By the way--the iPad is way too small for music scores in its current screen size. Chant scores would be fine, but scores at A4 or 8.5x11 paper size...no way. I'll be looking forward to a future version with a larger screen.
  • francis