Music of Alfredo Votta
  • I thought about setting a topic for speaking a little about my work - this will prevent me from creating multiple threads and allow anybody to come and read about me, or else to avoid reading about me.

I'm a composer, born (1980) and living in Southeastern Brazil. I'm Catholic, play and sing at a local OF. I've composed a few simple melodies for the ordinary which have been published at the Chabanel Psalms website by Jeff Ostrowski, for what I'm so thankful and honoured. Some are in Portuguese (my native language and the language of my country), some I've composed and/or adapted to English.

My "Livro de orações" ("Book of prayers"), a Latin setting of Ave Maria, Pater Noster and Gloria Patri, for SATB choir, was premiered on November 24th 2009 in Cincinnati, USA by Portuguese conductor Gonçalo Lourenço and CCM singers. At this moment I'm waiting for the video, it should be available soon at youtube.
  • RagueneauRagueneau
    Many of Alfredo's highly professional compositions are here.

By the way, I need a photo of you for HERE.
  • Thank you so much, Jeff!

I'll send you the photo.
  • francis
    Al

Do you live near Goncalo? If so, do give him my regards. We collaborated in 2005 for the premier of my Mass in C. Do post some of your scores here. Would love to see them!
  • Francis - I met Gonçalo on the internet, through a call for scores he sent out some years ago when he was the conductor of Odyssea choir in Portugal. He's recently moved to the US (studying in Cincinnati). I live in Brazil and don't know him personally. We share Portuguese as our native language, which adds joy to my pieces having been premiered by him as a conductor.

I'm almost done with the polishing of the score and I'll soon post it here, thanks for the interest, Francis!
  • francis
    Wow. I will have to contact him and see what he is doing now. Do you have contact info for him?

I look forward to seeing your scores.
  • Francis - I have Gonçalo's e-mail: