I'm an amateur - would love some honest feedback!
  • TRR
    Ever since I came across cantamus.app, which uses AI to sing sheet music, I've become totally addicted to composing. I'm a complete amateur with no musical training except I play the piano/organ and sing at the church choir, so naturally most of my attempts at sacral music fails miserably, but every once in a while I get inspired and come up with something I suspect is at least decent...

This time I wrote a SATB piece based on the antiphon "Sacerdotes Dei", and I would love to get some honest feedback, even if it's the worst thing you've heard all year. Thanks!
  • CHGiffenCHGiffen
    First hearting: very nice indeed! I'll try to give it more attention as soon as possible. Thank you for posting this.
  • M. Jackson Osborn
    Not bad at all!
    Rather nice.
    However, you do have some unpleasantly handled dissonances, particularly sevenths,. and which cause one suddenly to shake his head. (Did I really hear that!)
    Thanked by 1CHGiffen
  • TRR,
    Upon first hearing, I think your heart is in the right place! I can also see that you have ideas and inspirations (coming from the Holy Spirit!) and are starting to translate it into music.

I would suggest looking at the great composers that enriched the Church’s treasury of sacred music:
    Palestrina, Victoria, Guerrero, Bruckner, and contemporary masters such as Kevin Allen, Frank La Rocca and even some composers on this forum (CHGiffen, Serviam Scores, and others)!
    I’m sure you’ve heard their works before.

As you delve into the wonderful art of composing for the Sacred Liturgy, there are two aspects that I consider to be essential:
    The spiritual aspect and the technical aspect. You need both to compose good liturgical music and as I said you’re headed in the right direction!