Ethical Concerns of OCP (Respond & Acclaim)
  • RevAMG
    I once needed a R&A psalm for a saint's feast day (one of the ones that when it falls on a Sunday in Ordinary Time, it takes precedence). I contacted OCP for the music (it wasn't in their online catalog) and they told me to just use it out of an old R&A book. They told me they know that people keep them and told me they couldn't provide the music otherwise.
  • chonakchonak
    With most copyrighted works, performing the work in public requires a license, so OCP can make the permission-to-perform limited if they want.

But it seems that there is an exemption in US law for religious services.

It's described here:
    https://christiancopyrightsolutions.com/blog/the-religious-service-exemption-explained/

Note: this doesn't apply to concerts or streaming, and it doesn't imply a right to make copies or projections. Gosh, it might not even cover rehearsals if they are conducted in public!

Of course, I'm not a lawyer, so don't rely on my opinion.
  • Chonak,

Is live streaming a religious service treated as a live-stream or a religious service?
  • chonakchonak
    See the linked web page for some discussion of streaming.
  • Streaming live might be covered, but stored for review clearly is not.

This seems the best reason I can think of to use only music which is (already) in the public domain.

This hurts currently composing musicians, though, even if the copyright is personally owned (rather than owned by a big publishing house).
  • ServiamScores
    Is live streaming a religious service treated as a live-stream or a religious service?
    live stream. This is why it was such a big deal when Covid hit; one license even granted a temporary general grace period so everyone could get their affairs in order. (And even when you have the license to stream, you then have to pull the stream down after a year.)
  • CatholicZ09