Trouble with sound system - boom mics are picking up "organ"
  • Hi everyone, I'm a college student at Virginia Tech and I'm new to directing our church choir. Given that we are a Catholic Campus Ministry, we are at liberty of the school in terms of the spaces that we are given for Mass. We currently hold Mass in a small chapel.

We've had problems with our choir boom mics (2 of them) picking up the sounds of the (electronic) organ and causing major feedback, primarily due to the location of the choir. Here's a diagram of our setup: https://ibb.co/6JyxhJG

A couple of things to note:
    1) Since the chapel isn't our space, and we only rent it from the school on Sundays, we have to use a portable sound system (aka, nothing is wired into the ambo or anything else). For the choir, we use 2 boom mics - one for the altos and tenors, and one for the sopranos and basses (as shown on the diagram). We also use one dynamic mic for the director (me), one dynamic mic for the ambo (lectors and cantor), and the wireless priest mic.

2) I know that people may suggest that we just don't use any mics for the choir. This unfortunately is NOT an option because the chapel ceiling is not high in any way, and we are stuck in a corner of the chapel, so our sound doesn't go anywhere. For the words to be made out by the congregation, the choir needs to be mic'd up.

3) Not only are we stuck in a corner of the chapel, but we are also directly next to the organ's speakers. The organist and more organ speakers are all the way across the chapel, so he has to look over the alter to see me give cues and cutoffs.

4) We cannot move out of our general area, because if we go anywhere else, we will be in the way of those who receive communion.