Contemporary style antiphons
  • Chris, I'm afraid I don't quite understand where you are going with the La Marseillaise example.

By adapting the piece I meant playing only a few measures for the introduction instead of the whole refrain or only singing it one time through with the whole choir instead of the cantor singing and the the choir repeating it. But you are right that in the style of these antiphons that can only be done to a certain extent and will vary depending on the individual antiphon.
  • Andrew, thanks for the answer to my question regarding obedience to the bishop. As I said I am far from an expert and what the bishops authority covers.

Out of curiosity, how well has the adoption of your bishop's new rules gone? Have you noticed any major changes in the congregation and how that react to these changes?
  • Andrew_Malton
    For many parishes there was little change because that's mostly what they were doing anyway. One may discern that much of those rules affects only those who are trying to do more traditional things, and they are in a minority.

We had been singing the Communion Antiphon from the choir, before starting the Communion hymn: this stopped, and those who hadn't liked it were gratified. We had in another place been chanting the Entrance Antiphon (from Weber) on either side of the Entrance Hymn: this stopped along with the rest of use of Weber's chants, and those who hadn't liked them were pleased. All the Deacons I know complied, but I've no idea how readily. Some servers I know withdrew from altar service, but m sure they were replaced.

On the whole, though, I think there was never anything in the way of major changes.
  • lmassery
    Andrew, what a terrible Bishop. I’m sorry
    Thanked by 1Elmar
  • Elmar
    What a bunch of micro-managing ... forbidding people to genuflect before receiving communion? Seems that some bishops have too little real work to do...
  • Elmar,