Scandals, publishers, questionable composers and running with torches. (Re: David Haas)
  • DavidWilde
    Britain does not have a single legal system. In England and Wales the outcome of a criminal trial is a verdict of guilty or not guilty, and the presumption of innocence means that the verdict should be not guilty unless guilt is proved beyond reasonable doubt. The Scottish legal system, on the other hand, can have three possible verdicts, guilty, innocent and 'not proven'. I've no knowledge of Australian law but I would have thought that it would be likely to follow the same model as England and Wales. In England and Wales an appeal against a guilty verdict would effectively review whether the finding of guilt was indeed beyond reasonable doubt.
    Thanked by 2a_f_hawkins tomjaw
  • Liam
    That's Scots law, not "British" law.
  • JesJes
    I guess what I am trying to say is GIA can choose who they do or do not publish but to launch investigations online is odd. To actively ask people to make a report and encourage reports against Haas to a website over an official body is bizarre...

Maybe they are better than the legal system over there? Is that what you're saying, GIA publishing does a better job than your courts?

If that's the case then I dunno how anybody can make a mockery of Victoria's legal system because GIA publishing and Vic Pol Aus aren't that different in terms of tactics...
  • Kathy
    I think it would be better to leave Cardinal Pell out of this entirely. His ridiculous conviction ignored the facts of the case. At any rate it has nothing whatsoever to do with this and doesn't help the discussion.
    Thanked by 1tomjaw
  • Liam
    The only subject matter over which an official body would have cognizance would be *criminal or civil offenses* for which the respective statutes of limitations have yet to run. There's a host of deplorable human behaviors that don't fit under that rubric.
  • PLTT