Simplified Introit for Laetare Sunday Extraordinary form
  • Hi, I would like to ask for a volunteer who would check out my arrangement of the Introit for Laetare Sunday. My scola only has an hour to practice and the Introit in the Liber is much too difficult for such a short amount of time which also will need to include some practice for other Mass parts and Motets. I created it on MuseScore. I am a novice user and I know that modern notation does not convey the nuances of chant but I need it to be easy enough for different levels of musicians to learn. I did a combination of the original from the Liber and recto tono style. If you would like to help me please respond to this message. Claire Cavoto, in PA
  • BenBen
    I would encourage you to post your piece here. Typically in cases like this, it's done that way, so that many users can pitch in comments on it, and it would also be more useful to users down the road looking for similar things.
  • Ok, I've attached it below. Hopefully it will come through as a pdf. Thanks.
    Thanked by 2Ben CHGiffen
  • Richard MixRichard Mix
    If there are going to be barlines "Lae-| ta-|re Je-| rusalem" &c. might avoid a little confusion.
  • Thanks for the tip, I'll see if there is an option to add bars in text. There wasn't a no bar line option for notation in MuseScore as far as I can see. I would have done it without bar lines for the notation. I'm not sure I can add them to the text with that software.
  • BenBen
    You might even find it helpful to adjust the measures with custom time to make each measure be a phrase instead of 4/4. It makes it much easier to read, more closely mimics the chant, and is easily possible in MuseScore, I've done it many times.
    Thanked by 1CCooze
  • BenBen
    A few examples of what I mean (these weren't done in MuseScore, but I've been able to do the same thing within MuseScore). Note how the bars are used to denote phrases, like in chant, not a strict time.